Metro Manila Imposes Ban on E-Bikes on National Roads

ban on e-bikes
Photo Credits


In a recent announcement, the Metro Manila Council (MMC) has given the green light to a resolution that puts the brakes on e-bikes cruising down national roads in the National Capital Region. The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) spilled the details during a press conference led by MMDA chief Romando Artes.

According to Artes, the MMC has laid down the law on e-trikes and other electric vehicles, officially banning their presence on the major roads under MMDA’s watchful eye. Those caught breaking the rule will face a PHP2,500 fine. What’s more, riders will need a valid driver’s license to zip around on their e-bikes. Anyone caught without one risks having their e-bikes impounded.

  • A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • Araneta Avenue
  • Del Pan/Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway
  • Elliptical Road
  • Epifanio Delos Santos Avenue (EDSA)
  • Katipunan Avenue /C.P. Garcia Avenue
  • Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard
  • Mindanao Avenue
  • Ortigas Avenue
  • Pres. Quirino Avenue
  • Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue
  • Recto Avenue
  • Rizal Avenue
  • Roxas Boulevard
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • South Luzon Expressway (SLEX)
  • Southeast Metro Manila Expressway
  • Taft Avenue

The new policy is set to kick in after 15 days of widespread publication and an information campaign to spread the word.

Interestingly, this move comes after a joint effort by various government bodies and local government units to brainstorm a unified set of rules for e-vehicles.

Now, as the countdown begins for the policy to take effect, how will this change the e-bike scene in Metro Manila?