E-Trike and E-Bike Ban Starts Today on NCR National Roads

e-bike ban
Photo Credits: One News PH


Few days ago, we shared that the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) issued a notice about the upcoming E-Trike, E-Bike Ban, and similar types of vehicles on major roads across Metro Manila. The restriction kicked off today, April 15th.

But here’s the catch, even though the ban is in effect, some of these vehicles were still spotted on these roads early Monday morning as reported by GMA News.

The MMDA did allow a few exceptions. For instance, if a vehicle needs to cross a busy street to get to the other side, it’s still allowed. Tricycles can also travel on these roads for up to 500 meters, but only to reach a U-turn slot to cross over.

e-bike ban
photo credits: shutterstock

List of Roads for E-Trike and E-Bike Ban

  • A. Bonifacio Avenue
  • Araneta Avenue in QC
  • Boni Avenue
  • Claro M. Recto Avenue in Manila
  • Del Pan/Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway
  • Elliptical Road
  • Epifanio Delos Santos Avenue (EDSA)
  • España Boulevard
  • Claro M. Recto Avenue in Manila
  • Katipunan/C.P. Garcia in QC
  • Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard
  • Marcos Highway
  • Mindanao Avenue
  • Ortigas Avenue
  • Osmeña Highway
  • President Quirino Avenue in Manila
  • Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue
  • Rizal Avenue
  • Roxas Boulevard
  • Shaw Boulevard
  • Southeast Metro Manila Expressway
  • Taft Avenue
  • Any other routes as designated by the MMDA.

Those caught breaking the E-Trike and E-Bike ban will face a PHP2,500 fine. What’s more, riders will need a valid driver’s license to zip around on their e-bikes. Anyone caught without one risks having their e-bikes impounded.

Did you happen to notice any of these vehicles on your way to work today?