Home Tech News What Areas Are Covered by Smart’s 2000 Cell Sites in 2021?

What Areas Are Covered by Smart’s 2000 Cell Sites in 2021?

Photo by Miguel Á. Padriñán from Pexels

Smart Communications announced that it aims to roll out 2000 new cell sites in 2021, “reinforcing the network’s record build.”

The initiative is just part of the telco’s commitment to bring improved connectivity and better coverage in the Philippines. Ever since the Anti-Red Tape Authority issued its Joint Memorandum Circular in August, Smart has secured nearly 1,500 permits to build more cell sites.

According to Smart’s statement, the permit covers the following areas that shall improve the company’s services to its customers:

  1. Albay, 
  2. Aurora, 
  3. Batangas, 
  4. Bulacan, 
  5. Cagayan, 
  6. Camarines Sur, 
  7. Cavite, 
  8. Isabela, 
  9. Laguna, 
  10. Masbate, 
  11. Quezon, 
  12. Rizal,
  13. Sorsogon,
  14. Abra, 
  15. Benguet, 
  16. Ilocos Sur, 
  17. Mountain Province, 
  18. Nueva Ecija, 
  19. Palawan, 
  20. Pampanga, 
  21. Pangasinan, 
  22. Tarlac, 
  23. Zambales
  24. Aklan,
  25. Antique,
  26. Bohol, 
  27. Cebu, 
  28. Iloilo, 
  29. Leyte, 
  30. Negros Occidental, 
  31. Northern Samar, 
  32. Southern Leyte,
  33. Agusan del Norte, 
  34. Agusan del Sur, 
  35. Cotabato (North Cotabato), 
  36. Davao del Sur, 
  37. Davao Oriental, 
  38. Lanao Del Norte, 
  39. Lanao del Sur, 
  40. Maguindanao, 
  41. Misamis Oriental, 
  42. South Cotabato, 
  43. Sultan Kudarat, 
  44. Zamboanga Sibugay, 
  45. and Zamboanga del Norte.

While President Rodrigo Duterte’s tirade towards telcos has prompted the acceleration of issuance of building permits, it’s probably safe to say that the new towers won’t be completed until the latter half of 2021. 

READ: Smart 5G Availability Locations in the Philippines

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.